Day Drinking on Delmarva
Day Drinking on Delmarva
Picture Book
0:00
-35:54

Picture Book

Todd drinks because he gets to live here; Tony drinks because he has to live here

I don’t know why it took so long to think of this. Todd and I have been taking photos as a significant part of our jobs for the better part of this century. We covered events (with differing degrees of enthusiasm) all over the region.

On the face of it, it doesn’t make a lot of sense to add a photo section to an audio podcast, but the pictures don’t really matter. The idea is to go back through the years and talk about what was going on when the photo was taken.

In this inaugural episode, Todd talks about his pre-season getaway to Virginia Beach and I talk about how disappointing Salisbury is.

The photo I chose was from one of the great well-conceived and executed failures I’ve been part of. It might have been called the Salisbury Book Festival (or something) but it was sponsored (if I recall correctly) by Delmarva Public Radio and the library.

There were maybe 10 booths, including the local chapter of the Maryland Writers Association. People in booths outnumbered attendees three to one. It was a hot and windy day and at one point we had people stationed at each corner of the tent to hold it down.

The photo I chose was of the entertainment. I don’t recall the guy’s name, but I think of him often. He was performing children’s music for, like, six kids who mostly were in front of the stage because that’s where the toys were.

He was indefatigable, so happy to be playing his music that he didn’t care that he was being ignored. He ignored being ignored and found his bliss like a saint. I don’t do performance art so it’s something I have trouble relating with.

Still, I was mad that so few people came out to a book event. No. I was mad that people thought it was ridiculous to have a book event in Salisbury and that they were right.

As I mention in the show, I developed an obsession with Cumberland, Md. over the years I’ve been traveling there. It looks like a city on the verge. I still consider moving there from time to time.

A friend who lives in the area said Cumberland has always looked on the verge of being cool, but it isn’t and won’t likely be in my lifetime. That’s how I’ve come to think of Salisbury. A place that won’t make the transition.

My working theory is that the cultural costs are too high, as are the economic costs. Maybe we’re past the time when places “happen.” Maybe I’m past the age where I can tell. In any case, here’s to the guy who loves performing kid’s music live for a distracted, disaffected few more than not playing kid’s music live at all.

0 Comments
Day Drinking on Delmarva
Day Drinking on Delmarva
Todd DeHart and Tony Russo talk about living and working at the beach and all that entails, including enjoying a mid-day cocktail.